VS
Simba logo banner
Doze logo banner

Simba vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Simba

Simba have been around for a long time originally founding in 1979, however, they have only been in the bed-in-a-box industry a few years at this point. Simba started its journey with one mattress before branching out to encompass an entire range. These aren’t just any mattresses though, and they have been tested using data from ten million sleepers’ body profiles and over 100 prototypes to help ensure that the mattress and its design will suit the vast majority of sleepers. To date the Simba lineup has become one of the most well-reviewed mattresses worldwide and with the new line-up, there's different models to suit different budgets.

Simba has an entire lineup dedicated to bed in box rolled mattresses. This avenue to market has become increasingly popular in recent years and has numerous benefits, namely that the cost of the product is typically lower due to savings within logistics warehousing and delivery.

Read our full Simba review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Simba: 5.00/5.00
Doze: 4.67/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Simba: 5.00/5.00
Doze: 4.67/5.00

Price:
Simba: £239.40 - £851.40
Doze: £10.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Simba in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Simba Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction for Simba is high on their priority list, offering an impressive comfort guarantee which means that if you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase you are able to organise a return for a full refund. The return process is one of the easiest we have come across and involves letting the company know and they will arrange collection at a time convenient to you. Additionally, there are no additional surcharges, costs or delivery fees associated with the returns process which means you get 200 nights risk free to try the mattress.

After this trial period you will also receive a market leading 10 year guarantee that will further instill confidence and ensure your investment is protected long term.

Simba Supportiveness

Simba have multiple mattresses in their range, however all offer roughly the same level of supportiveness coming in at a medium firm tension. The comfort that you derive from a mattress will generally come from the top layer that sits somewhat detached from the support layer. The support layer is what contours and fights against your body to give you pressure relief. Depending on how you sleep or how much you weigh are both factors in determining suitability of tension. With the medium firm support of the Simba lineup we find them most suitable for back sleepers and those of average or heavier build. That said, due to the inclusivity that Simba has aimed to achieve through its prototypes and extensive testing, we do have plenty of reports of side sleepers and those who are lighter getting maximum comfort out of the lineup.

Simba Durability

People are increasingly expecting more from their mattresses with more comfort and more support on offer than ever before. It’s actually a really great time to buy a new mattress as companies new and old are changing the way they do business and produce mattresses with improvements and savings along the way. The same has become true for durability and while the average lifespan of a mattress before being replaced currently lies at around 7 years, the Simba goes above and beyond with a guarantee covering a full 10 years. The result of mattresses lasting longer is the cost of sleep actually decreases relative to cost and time meaning products like Simba may be cheaper in the long run due to that enhanced and increased durability.

Simba Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Simba mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Simba Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Verified Buyer

When I saw online I must of read it so many times as I didn't want to get wrong.When it came it I aired it out and put my bedding.As soon I got in bed I felt it was very comfortable not hard , my back pain had gone within a few minutes even if I sit up and rest my legs I can be on my mattress 24 hours but before u couldn't I could get up.In my mattress I can read lie down , do my zoom meetings, training, work without having to keep moving as its stays the the same.

5 Verified Buyer

Didn't know where to start choosing a new (well overdue) mattress, heard a lot about Simba so we gave it a go. Best night sleep ever, my wife does get restless and it's either improved or I'm not noticing her moving about.The support is fantastic and it's comfortable too, firmish feel but you still sink into it.Best decision we have made in a long time, happy to recommend.

5 Verified Buyer

OK - good service , delivered on time and old mattress taken away .The SIMBA is certainly acceptable I wont bother sending it back under their 100 night guarantee but something about it not quite to my liking. Maybe it needs to sit on a divan rather than an oak framed bed like mine.Anyway it's not causing me any sleepless nights , so Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz !

5 Verified Buyer

My wife has suffered with her back for years and has had operation to alleviate some of the pain. I bought her a foam mattress to give her more support but after two years of perseverance she was in agony every morning! Enter the new Simba mattress........no more morning blues and there's no stopping her now. Incredible product and worth every penny.

5 Verified Buyer

Can't fault my Simba mattress, getting the best nights sleep I can ever remember, supports me from head to toe, my lower back is feeling fantastic, a problem area for me.The mattress is rolled which is really convenient in this pandemic. The mattress is very well made and really comfy too.Will recommend to everyone.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.