VS
Hypnos logo banner
Doze logo banner

Hypnos vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hypnos

Hypnos is one of the oldest and most prestigious mattress manufacturers in the UK, founded in 1904. The company have perfected the creation of handmade luxurious pocket spring mattresses and are renowned as “one of the most comfortable beds in the world”, achieving the Royal Warrant and represent a highly regarded symbol that showcases the very highest standards in excellence and quality giving the owner of the title the ability to truly claim they are the best of british.

Read our full Hypnos review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hypnos: 4.13/5.00
Doze: 4.12/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Hypnos: 4.13/5.00
Doze: 4.12/5.00

Price:
Hypnos: £599.00 - £1229.00
Doze: £9.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Hypnos in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Hypnos Owner Satisfaction

Customers of Hypnos mattresses are in for a treat, with more reviews than ever we’re been able to dissect and deep dive into what makes these mattresses great and the general consensus is that while a little bit pricier than alternatives, the quality and support all come together to offer a fantastic range of mattresses which perform extremely well and have received the Royal Warrant. People who own these mattresses report fantastic back support from the medium and firm tensions while the pocket springs contour to each and every part of your body and offer great quality at reasonable price points.

Hypnos Supportiveness

Hypnos mattresses are renowned for their supportiveness, offering a variety of different mattress tensions ranging from soft through to firm. The Hypnos lineup typically features pocket springs as a support layer which is thankfully one of the best bases you can get in mattresses. As a result, these mattresses are some of the best in the industry and with the wide range of tensions, there is something for everyone. Consider a medium tension mattress for back and side sleepers of most weight classes while a firmer might be more suitable for back sleepers or those with a heavier build.

Hypnos Durability

Hypnos mattresses have a huge benefit over many of the competition when it comes to durability. That’s because they have a very no-compromise approach to their range of mattresses, giving you the best in materials and not working to the same sort of budgets as other mattresses. Featuring numerous natural materials and handcrafted in the UK, all mattresses are guaranteed for 10 years which is market leading and exceeds the average life expectancy of a typical mattress from other manufacturers. Additionally many of the lineup are 2-sided, meaning you get the comfort layer on both sides of the mattress which gives you twice the surface area, increasing durability and ensuring even settlement over time.

Hypnos Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Hypnos mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Hypnos Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 avie57

This new mattress was delivered on 15th January (sale price was amazing so to good to miss), the ordering process and delivery time and contact from Dreams was great. Two very personable delivery chaps, who took their shoes off as soon as they entered my house! Now to the mattress: We are extremely pleased with the comfort. Having stayed at numerous Premiers Hotels for business and occasionally for pleasure I have always found their beds to be so comfortable, and now I am pleased to say I can have the same sleep comfort at home! No more backache! The finish of the mattress is very good, seems very well made and with a 10 year guarantee I don't think you can go far wrong. It is on the heavy side but that is to be expected, so it will take two to flip it over. It even has handles at either end not just on the sides, so that will help with any moving of the mattress that may be necessary. The only problem that I have come across so far - the bed is now so much more difficult to get out of on dark cold mornings!!! I definitely recommend Hypnos, and due to the price in the sale it was an even more perfect purchase. If you have always wanted one just go ahead and purchase it, you will not be disappointed, and I also recommend Dreams themselves from my recent experience.

5 Chris the gardener

My previous mattress owed me nothing. It belonged to my best friend, and was hardly used for 10 years, before I gave it a good home for another 6 years. It had become, like an inverted learning curve, exponentially less comfortable, to the point where it had become like sleeping on a grill tray. Action needed! My research led me to a concise profile of mattress type - double; pocket spring; medium firmness; up to £800. This was worth doing,as there are so many variations of mattress nowadays. I tried three mattresses, and like Goldilocks, found one mattress too hard, another one too soft, and as you may now presume, the third one, the Hypnos Swinton, was just right. Immediately just right. Not 'okay', it was spot on. I tried the other mattresses again, out of respect to them, but the choice was already made. And now, after two weeks sleeping with the new mattress, it's hard to believe I put up with the old mattress for so long. Yes, it's hard to get up in the mornings, but only because the mattress is so comfortable that I'd like to linger longer, but when I do get up, it's the start of a brilliant day, refreshed and with no aching back. Get a Hypnos Swinton - it's what sleep's all about.

5 Moor

I tried this mattress in the shop and it was a little softer than I expected although very comfortable . Decided to purchase as I felt reassured with the 40 days guarantee .On our divan base it is more firm compared to the slatted base in the shop . I must say the comfort is great -no need for a mattress topper and the fabric feels natural regulating our temperature through the night . My general aches and pains have disappeared and I'm waking feeling much more refreshed . I don't really pay attention to advertising and was unaware that Premier used this product .My choice came about after we stayed in a top hotel in Devon this year on holiday and it made me realise we needed a new mattress badly . In the morning my husband and I pulled back the sheets and mattress protector to discover it was made by Hypnos . I was totally convinced this was the one for us . Can't believe the price at Dreams but maybe it'll not last as long as the hotel quality ones which cost £1000's .But so far we are extremely happy and sleeping much better .I would highly recommend to anyone who just generally aches in the morning !

4 Morrisminor

After staying in several premier inns I was pleased to find a mattress of the same make. Although there is no will topper it it soft but supportive, doesn't smell of fire retardant as did our last memory foam mattress that we returned to another shop. The edges aren't that firm but are fine. We preferred a flaxby but it was twice the price & not twice as good. It was just softer as it had more springs and w as made our a move natural filing (wool more than plastic bottles) although we are surrounded by plastic generally and we use a mattress protector. Overall very pleased with dreams and we have both had much better sleep since. Finally the showroom sale (although we couldn't view the exact mattress) delivery and aftercare follow-up was faultless. Well done dreams. Ps we liked the complimentary room spray. Probably for the memory foam mattresses that take Longer to evaporate the compulsory fire retardant spray.

5 MonfromNotts

I bought two mattresses in their recent sale. They were for 'spare' beds so I didn't want to spend a fortune but I wanted something decent. We were looking at the full range and was given some advice as I wanted quite a firm one and one that didn't sag when you sat on the edge! We were going for a sprung pocket one when they started bringing out the further sale stock items. Ex demo/ returns etc. The lady helping us excused her self and went to talk to the lady pulling out a mattress. It was the same one we were looking at! So the mattress was already half price in the sale and this one was nearly half price again!! We snapped it up. And whilst there wasn't the same one reduced further there was another one with great reductions. In the end we got two mattresses for £600 having saved ourselves £1500!!! Bargain! Kids have been back and slept on both mattresses and love them.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.