VS
The-Dreams-Workshop logo banner
Doze logo banner

The-Dreams-Workshop vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

The-Dreams-Workshop

The Dreams Workshop first cropped up a few years ago, being sold exclusively through the Dreams retail website, the brand was established to offer a range of in-house products that were built and designed from the ground up by the team at Dreams HQ. The brand has UK roots, with all mattresses being manufactured right here in England using the latest in technological advances to create both traditional and hybrid rolled mattresses. The value proposition of The Dreams Workshop is in its ability to cut out middleman costs thanks to its direct link with the retailer, allowing for a more premium product at a reduced price point for the consumer. Pay particular attention to the rolled series of mattresses now coming out in the range, where the consumer wins again with savings on logistics and shipping being able to be passed down in even better prices.

Read our full The-Dreams-Workshop review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
The-Dreams-Workshop: 4.69/5.00
Doze: 4.68/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
The-Dreams-Workshop: 4.69/5.00
Doze: 4.68/5.00

Price:
The-Dreams-Workshop: £169.00 - £1299.00
Doze: £ - £


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend The-Dreams-Workshop in this face off!


Becky
Compares

The-Dreams-Workshop Owner Satisfaction

Consumer Satisfaction is where this brand really strives, amassing an impressive number of reviews coupled with high feedback ratings. We see customers particularly happy with the tension on offer throughout the lineup, with sleepers enjoying the measured and even support throughout the layer. Pocket spring options tended to perform more favourably, leaving customers satisfied more than some of the open coil variants. That said, price point is one of the driving factors for consumers of this particular brand and people appreciate the compromise.

The-Dreams-Workshop Supportiveness

From the Maitland Pocket Spring through to the Turner Traditional Spring Mattress, there’s more than enough support on offer to ensure your back and neck is adequately supported. Most of the range is of the firm variety with a handful of medium firmness sprinkled throughout the lineup. Customers were particularly impressed with the support with many commenting on the relief experienced with their new Dreams Workshop mattress. We would generally recommend the pocket spring offerings over the traditional spring variants for increased longevity and improved edge to edge support.

The-Dreams-Workshop Durability

Durability is not typically a concern with any of The Dreams Workshop, with numerous long-term reviews finding that the product stands the test of time. For those looking to get more lifespan from their product, consider a dual sided mattress from within the range as these models have twice the surface area to sleep on which improves settlement of springs and helps decrease wear on the fillings. One downside we have come across with the brand is around the guarantee which is limited to only 1 year, typically brands have started moving away from this minimum amount to the satisfaction of customers. At the same time, problems typically appear within that first year at a much higher rate than in the years that follow, at which point many customers will still find this type of guarantee to be suitable and inline with expectations, particularly given the impressive price points.

The-Dreams-Workshop Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on The-Dreams-Workshop mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

The-Dreams-Workshop Most Useful Customer Reviews

4 gbot1994

THE GOOD: - Amazing build quality, feels very sturdy! - Incredible storage space. - Looks the part. Certainly looks more expensive than it is, even at this price point. I absolutely love this bed! Such a great purchase. I was looking to replace my existing cheap and creaky Ottoman with something more substantial. Browsing online I came across a few Ottoman's in a Dreams promotion so head down to the store to see them in person. This item wasn't in the promotion, but the quality of it vs. the others immediately surprised me and I went over budget to pay for it. The Oatmeal colour was lovely but given I have a darker carpet I wanted a darker colour but was worried the Slate would be too dark. Store colleagues have swatches for their bed frames so it's worth popping into store if you're not sure. The build quality of this bed is really really good. You really do get what you pay for and given you spend so much of your life in bed, it's worth the extra. The arms which hold the bed base and mattress are made from a solid metal. None of this cheap aluminium stuff you'd find at cheaper price points. The storage area is huge! It utilises 4 base boards sat on top of a cross-beam. The space inside is a little less than Dreams claim in the dimensions, but will happily fit plastic storage boxes up to 42 litre capacity (from places like B&M). After all that there's even then some room beneath the bed to slide a few things under it too. The beds component parts came in 5 boxes and are quite heavy so you'll probably need two adults to put this together (King size). It took us about 2 hours to construct it. There's certainly plenty of screws etc so you can be sure it'll be sturdy. Given COVID etc there was quite a wait on this and so I ordered it and patiently waited the 3 and a bit weeks for delivery. The delivery experience was good, with updates by text and email and a phone call on the day. I live on the first floor and the team were happy to bring the items in to the flat for me which really helped. My first nights sleep on this bed was a breath of fresh air vs the old frame. I could tell the difference immediately. In my opinion a solid base such as this or a divan is a much better option versus a slatted base. A platform base doesn't tend to wear as much on one side - especially if you're a single person or have a heavier sleeper on one side of the bed vs the other. THE BAD: The assembly instructions for this bed say you need 4 metal plates to join the two base boards together when in actual fact there is only enough screw holes on the bottom for 2 plates. The instructions are wrong here and had us hunting through all the boxes for a while before we figured that out. Perhaps they need updating Dreams? Secondly, the two base boards were actually missing 8 screw holes on the underside where the little plates should go. These plates basically keep the two based boards attached at the join. While there were markings where the screws should go, it was as if the manufacturer forgot to drill them. Fortunately this didn't impact the frame to the point I couldn't sleep on it but I still wanted to get it resolved. I emailed Dreams and after a few days had no response. Chasing this up by calling customer services, the young lady on the phone was very apologetic and helpful, although I often struggled to hear her through the background noise of her home working environment which she didn't seem too bothered by. Unfortunately, the resolution is where Dreams let me down. I now have to wait 3 and a bit weeks to get the matter resolved. Dreams are ordering two replacement base boards from the manufacturer which is going to take another 3 weeks. Come on! Poor show. The reason this annoys me so much is the fact that if it had been a major issue with the bed I'd have been sleeping on the floor for those 3 weeks. That'd have been less than ideal if I was a vulnerable person or something?! I've already waited 3 weeks for this bed and - in actual fact - all it needs is 8 pilot holes screwing into the bed to get the screws to grip the wood. I feel the current boards will simply be scrapped and go to landfill after this when they're perfectly fine. I said I was happy to drill those in, but I didn't want to void the warranty. Sadly Dreams wouldn't approve that, which I suppose is understandable. SUMMARY: Amazing bed, 100% recommend. Amazing built quality. You'll sleep well. Hopefully yours will be fully complete and you'll have no issues.

5 Harvey Halloway

Ordered this bed for our spare bedroom having spent a long time researching brass bedframes online and which one we thought might look best and be of decent quality. We opted for the Jackson bed frame in the end from Dreams. Seemed a great compromise between cheap & potentially nasty £200 brass bed frame from multiple online retailers & a £1,500 high end one from Feather & Black for example, that would have blown our budget, albeit would have looked potentially fantastic. I built it up myself (one person) with some engineering solutions to counter the fact that my wife was unavailable to assist that day & I couldn't wait to show it off to her! It was hard graft unpacking the bed which was well wrapped (there is a lot of recycling to do afterwards as the cardboard boxes are massive) but a relatively straightforward build, albeit took me about 3-4 hours on and off with breaks on a day off & the radio on in the background to chill out. We got ours with the slatted bed base, which also needed built up too. That was also relatively straightforward & I did it solo too but I am glad we have fairly big rooms. My wife did give me a hand lifting this on to the frame mind you, it is not heavy but awkward and I didn't want to damage the brass frame so you would need two folk for this bit I think. We have still to buy a decent quality mattress & some new bedding to complete the look, so all in we shall be spending a fair whack of cash on this bed but it looks great and I think will be around for 25 years (I hope). The spare room we have put it in has been decorated with some lovely floral prints in brass frames and my wife thinks it looks really lovely. I will add some photos once we have got the mattress & bedding as I appreciated being able to see how the bed looked in peoples' homes prior to us buying it. Technically, we or our guests post-Covid have yet to actually sleep on this bed frame yet but it seems well constructed, solid and non-squeaky if built correctly. Also, the delivery drivers were two very nice fellas and carried the bed to the room of our choice ready for unpacking, first time we have used Dreams and they seem to have a decent customer service model and want to ensure repeat custom, which is how all good business models work. You can pay another 50 quid for assembly but I enjoyed toiling away & doing everything properly, my DIY skills are average but if you take you time, you will be fine, so don't be scared of taking this part on & you can buy yourself a few bottles of wine with the 50 quid instead!

5

I bought the i200 from the Chandler's Ford branch, in Southampton from a very wonderful and honest sales rep called Katie. I was buying this for my sons room, as he often sits in bed (like most youngsters) and plays the Xbox with his friends. Also, if he's unwell, it will help to prop him up. I was apprehensive about buying because it was to sit within my sons existing, wooden, bed frame; I didn't want the mechanical base exposed. So I went away, measured up the wooden frame and returned to the store the following day to check against the i200. All seemed well and Katie was very confident it would fit. With that the purchase was made. I had to wait a month due to it being new / shipped. It arrived today and be warned, it's heavy! 81kgs in its box. I got the delivery men to leave it downstairs and I was going to carry it up later, assuming it might be in two parts; I was wrong. I took it out of the box and the wife and I managed to carry it (stair by stair) upstairs, separate to the additional bits within the box. If needed it will part in to two frames which are held together by two swivel nuts and bolts. You have a choice of legs at either 3", 6" or combine the two for 9". I went for the 6" legs as that suited the wooden frame best. From there it's a simple case of screwing on the legs, plug in the front motor (the back motor is already plugged in) and plug in the transformer - done! Again beware that this is a two man job when lifting and shifting. Once it was flipped and on its legs I was then able the push it into the wooden frame. I took one side of the wooden frame off for ease and replaced once the i200 was in place. If the rooms big enough you could just simply lift the outer frame over the top and drop it in place. Very simple, very comfortable and my son loves it. The remote looks and works great, with buttons that light up when in use. I believe you can control the bed via an app on your phone too, as the instructions state. I'm now considering buying one for the wife and I as we're due a new bed. On that note, I'd imagine the i200 works best with a foam mattress as I wouldn't think a spring mattress would last too long being manipulated by the up and down motions. All in all, a fantastic product and excellent service from Dreams, hense the long review being worth my time! Ps. I've included some photo's that may help a potential future buyer. Kind regards, Mark Roberts

5 VmsM

I bought the item a month ago, it took about 15 days to arrive ( what I think was a bit long but its it's ok, sometimes the production takes more time than we wanted). The bed is easily assembled, what puts off the need of a person assembling it for you. I've purchased the brown mocha color, the color would match with other furniture and also it hides eventual stains of caused with the time (take that in consideration when buying: darker colours are always better than lighter when close to the floor). The height of the bed is something that might scare some people but is definitely a good thing, the lower the bed the closer to the floor, for people with allergies "the higher the better" is a truth. Also for elderly people or people with some mobility problems ( or just normal people after a couple of pints on the might before) higher beds makes it easier to get out of it and also to lay on it. The fabric seems a bit fragile but it's not a thing that will be under friction so it does last for a while. Just on the drawers that I believe could be another material or at least reinforced somehow. Regarding the drawers they are nice and aligned with the bed surface, avoiding the rush of stepping on by mistake (and breaking by mistake too). It does slides smoothly although the interior sides could be a bit higher, increasing the volume capacity of it. The fact of having two on the same side makes it easier to use it in a corner without loosing any drawer. It is easy to move it since it doesn't weight much, the use of pinus makes it lighter and the structure frame is set in a way that takes advantage of pinus, without look fragile as the majority of minus bedframes. The castors are also a good thing since makes it really easier to me pushed/pulled to a different position or room. Regarding the company, I have no complaints at all nor about the customer service nor about the delivery team. Just remember that it was my experience and might be different according to different teams/customer assistant. I definitely recommend this item if you want something on this range of price and some quality associated. If you are not sure don't buy it online, call them tell them your concerns and if you still not sure I believe they might have physical stores where you can see . A good service is also related to you awareness of the product/service.

5 Floogle

We had put off replacing our old bed for a few years because we were sceptical of what appeared to be available on the market. Our old bed had done us well lasting well over 10 years (prob 15 if truth be told). Anyway one fateful day put an end to the bed, it's days had been numbered and with a bang and a crash the foot board decided it wanted to go its own way rather than stay with the remainder of the bed. Now we were forced into choosing another bed. The dread of having to spend hours on the Internet all of a sudden became real. Lockdown was well and truely established.. We were in over our heads and compelled to seek a suitable replacement. The journey started! As it happened it was a short journey. Tapping our requirements into the search revealed a select few beds advertised by several companies. Narrowing our search by size then availability whittled the options down further and with a final flourish of colour and optional storage hey presto we were left with a choice of 2. This bed search was easier than we had imagined - mercifully. Comparing the 2 beds left us with no option and we left the 'great 1 time sale, limited availability with free luxury pillows all the way from our warehouse in Italy' and settled for our Dreams supplied bed. Navigation through the Dreams website was a breeze, floating through the useful guides and information made sure that the options chosen were indeed what we were after. A final click and we were at the payment page. Details entered and delivery arranged hey presto we had bought a new bed. Follow up emails from Dreams made sure that we were kept up to date with the date and approximate time of delivery. Delivery day came and there was relief that the bed arrived before the advised time. A quick tour of the assembly instructions was followed by an uneventful build of the bed. All fastenings present, clear instructions and before we knew it ta daaa..the bed was assembled. No fuss, no scratching of heads and no cursing!!! Quality of parts exceeded expectations and the final item looked and felt great. The mattress was loaded onto the bed and a well deserved comfort test followed shortly afterwards. We have now had the bed for a few weeks and we can definitely say that all our reservations about buying a new bed were very much laid to rest. Great choice, exceptional quality and good value.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.