VS
Silentnight logo banner
Doze logo banner

Silentnight vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Silentnight

Silentnight is one of the most recognised and established mattress retailers within the UK. That’s not all they do though, they also sell all-things bedding meaning you can get bed frames, sheets, duvets and pillows too. For those unaware, Silentnight is one of the more long-standing manufacturers, first entering the market back in 1946 and providing a good nights sleep ever since.

Silentnight are truly dynamic in their desire to provide good sleep for everyone and in doing so there is a wide range of different mattress types available. Ranging from bed-in-a-box to traditional mattresses, soft to firm and gel to eco comfort fibres, there really is something to fit every budget and comfort market. Read on to see how Silentnight mattresses stack up against the competition.

Read our full Silentnight review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Silentnight: 4.54/5.00
Doze: 4.12/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Silentnight: 4.54/5.00
Doze: 4.12/5.00

Price:
Silentnight: £89.99 - £1209.99
Doze: £9.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Silentnight in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Silentnight Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction is at the core of everything Silentnight does and it’s evident through their tight relationships with both the consumers and retailers they work with. With the wide range of different products there’s something for everyone and thanks to advancements in technology surrounding edge support, roll-together prevention and better comfort layers that are both durable and luxurious, satisfaction has never been higher. Customer feedback is strong with many of the mattresses in the line-up being some of our highest and most well-reviewed. People particularly love the body contouring ability of the pocket springs, while the eco comfort fibres provide a sustainable and comfortable top layer.

Silentnight Supportiveness

Supportiveness is where Silentnight really shines. They’ve adjusted their offering over the years to focus more toward medium and firm tensions which naturally contour to the body better and help to alleviate back and neck pain. Silentnight also deployed an array of different support systems to further assist with adequate tension with the Mirapocket base layer proving the most popular and suitable if you are looking for additional support.

For those that suffer from back pain you may find the models within the range that feature hand tufting to give an additional bit of support.

Silentnight Durability

The average mattress is replaced at around the 7 year mark, that’s why it is so important for the durability of the mattress to hold up over time as the price point regardless of model is also going to be a considered purchase. With Silentnight, we have decades of proof that the mattresses truly stand the test of time and while our preference will always be that mirapocket layer over miracoil for increased lifespan, either should generally be suitable.

Another consideration in Silentnight’s favour is that the primarily spring based support layers are typically more breathable than their foam counterparts. Breathability means you are cooler and the mattress absorbs less moisture over time. Moisture over a long period of time can affect lifespan, performance and health.

Silentnight Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Silentnight mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Silentnight Most Useful Customer Reviews

4 Maz86

I bought this mattress two months ago and it was the first mattress I've ever bought as an adult so I spent some time deciding and trying a few out at the store. My old one had finally packed up and I was also suffering from lower back ache so needed something to support me at night as I hadn't been sleeping well for a couple of months. My pain slowly disappeared after a few nights of sleeping on the new one due to the extra support before being replaced by pain further up my back a few weeks later. Now, I DON'T believe the mattress was the cause of this and I've been sleeping well for a couple of weeks now as that pain has also since gone. But I feel I have to mention it in this review as I know back issues are something that many consider when looking at mattresses. But I really don't believe that to be the case in this instance as I'm now fine and sleeping well. The mattress is firm but you sink in when lying in the same spot. After a few nights you get used to this when trying to turn over. The first few nights it felt like I was trapped almost but it hasn't been issue at all. This mattress is also very warm due to the memory foam. I knew this when buying it and as someone who gets quite cold in the winter I didn't feel this was a major issue for me. However, as it's now summer there have been some nights where I've been extremely hot so if you're someone who gets hot easily and/or sleeps with a partner with the same problem then this might be something to consider. You won't notice it that much when laying on it at the shop for 10 minutes but you do when you sleep on it. I haven't regretted purchasing this mattress and when I've been pain free I've slept reasonably well. I think I need another few months to give a really full assessment but I'm someone who likes to sleep on his front with arm above my head and I'm able to do that comfortably. But I've also slept well when lying on my back and side. So all bases are probably covered depending on how you prefer to sleep. I'd give this 4 stars and not 5 because of how warm it can get and also due to having aches and pains before purchasing this and thus affecting the initial bedding in period. Had I written this review in 6 months time I may have given a different rating.

5 Verified Buyer

This is the first mattress I've ever bought. That's not to say I've never had a mattress in my possession before, it's just that, at the age of 32, this is the first one I have actually purchased myself. To an inexperienced customer, the world of mattress shopping is a daunting and complex domain, populated by a practically endless set of variables which one might never have previously considered, including 'pocket springs', 'coils' and 'memory foam', on top of the standard 'three amigos' of retail: price, brand and size. A visit to John Lewis with my girlfriend (a mattress-buying veteran who provided a welcome guiding hand) one evening after work provided an opportunity for us to get to grips with some of the many options first-hand. This was an investment of time I recommend to anyone in advance of considering making such a life-defining purchase online. I learned from this trip that the upper limit of what one can spend on a mattress is practically (but crucially, not literally) infinite. This was also the point at which the inherent gamble involved in the endeavour of mattress-purchasing was laid bare to me, with the stark realisation that no amount of casual testing of a mattress in-store could ever be sufficient to know what it would actually *be like* to sleep on one, let alone spend hundreds - and probably thousands - of nights cuddled up in (hopefully) restful slumber. After literally minutes of consideration, we left the store with a reasonably-priced, reliably-branded double 1200 pocket sprung memory foam option in mind and gainfully treated ourselves to dinner at an American BBQ restaurant as reward for our evening's work (which was, as it happens, dimly-lit and somewhat disappointing, though this is not our concern here). In the end, we went to Mattresses Online and bought what looked like a similar option, except with 1000 not 1200 pocket springs. Our experience thus far has been positive. We have not felt at all poorer for the 200 less pocket springs, and the memory foam element provides welcomingly soft cushioning, like laying down into the warm embrace of soft, yet firm, human flesh. I fully endorse this mattress.

5

I bought this 2 weeks ago and it’s been amazing so far, the pocket springs combined with the memory foam pillow top makes this bed very comfy and a dream to sleep on! Far better than my old simba hybrid mattress as that one was all memory foam, Good pocket springs from a reputable company like silent night are the way to go! And the fact this bed has a pillow top to make it that lil bit comfier is great, the pillow top is lowkey essential.. The bed come a bit firmer than I’d have liked took 3 nights to break it in, then it was perfect and it’s been very comfy ever since! I didn’t see this bed in store as it’s online only but I’m so glad I went with this one absolute dream! Only negative I do have is the fact it took 2-3 weeks to arrive which meant I had to sleep on my neighbours 10 year old mattress while I waited for it to come, defo worth it though. Positives • Very comfortable • Pocket springs provide adequate support without reducing any comfort • It looks like a well built mattress that will last a long time • 8 year guarantee for a extra fee but wasn’t too expensive for the peace of mind provided • Look for excuses to get to bed earlier now • Perfect size (little bit smaller than my simba double but works well with my bed frame) • Good height mattress! • Mirapocket zoned springs are a great help to provide support & comfort Negatives • Took what felt like a month for the item to arrive • Can’t see the item in any store in the Uk for some reason it’s online only which is annoying • No handles on the sides so turning the bed round is a ball ache!! Overall I’d give it 5 stars so far I may do another review 6 months in and let you all know how I get on with it as I’m aware mattresses can change from 2 weeks - 6 months hopefully this one stays comfortable and supportive it looks well built so I’ve got a feeling this will be the case.. If you liked this review SUBSCRIBE TO MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL! ‘AT VLOGS’ I may do a review on there if you want

5 Kotaatok

My mattress arrived about a month ago and it has had a huge impact on my aching body. I was born with EDS which means thatI can dislocate joints rolling over in my sleep. About 10yrs ago I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. Basically I have done so much damage to my nervous system that now days th at my nerve pathways send really wonky signals and I have bouts of extreme fatigue. So my bed is an extremely important place in my life as I can spend months straight in it. I had tried a number of mattresses in store and found that some were great at the start but after ten minutes they caused me extreme pain. I tried a tempur mattress that I was desperate to get off of in under a minute. But I still needed padding or shaping as I am odd shape at the best of times. I have been a Silentnight mattress fan for about 30yrs. I ended up with a mattress that had pocket spings along with a thinner top layer that has a gel that shapes to me. It is not as thick as a tempur mattress that tried to eat me but I get the best of both worlds. The firmness of my pocket springs and the soft comfortable gel top thickness. I have had great nights of sleep, less pain from mattress which is something I get from being bed for long periods of time and as a consequence less need for pain meds. The less meds the better as I swear I rattle like a pill bottle some days and it means I am always having to deal with secondary and sometimes tiertary side effects.

5 Verified Buyer

This is a REALLY firm mattress, like sleeping on a floor. That is just what I wanted.I have a genetic condition called Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, which means my skeleton is not held in place properly due to my connective tissue being 'floppy'. This is the best mattress I have ever owned (far better than 'luxury' brands costing upwards of £1,000) and supports my skeleton perfectly. At last, I can have a comfortable night's sleep and not wake up with dislocated joints (yes, that does happen) and severe pain all over my body.So, for me, this mattress is heaven itself.However, you have to realise that this is like sleeping on a breeze block for most of your body. If your current mattress is saggy, it is probably because it's old or worn or hasn't been turned properly. Do not buy a 'very firm' mattress to replace it unless you want a really HARD bed! Pretty much any new mattress will be firmer than an old one. This mattress is designed for people who are obese or disabled or have an extremely bad back that is permanent. I would imagine that for other people it would be way too firm. So beware of that before you buy.But if you know you want a very firm mattress, then believe me, you can't do better than this for the price. So long as you rotate it every week initially as recommended (after two months you can rotate it once a month), it does not sag. I have had mine about six weeks now and there is no sag whatsoever.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.