VS
Slumberland logo banner
Doze logo banner

Slumberland vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Slumberland

Slumberland is one of the oldest and most prestigious mattress manufacturers in the UK having first been established in 1919 in Cambridgeshire. To this day, Slumberland remains one of the largest mattress manufacturers, offering an impressive range of products in pocket spring support layers accompanied by numerous upper comfort layers, primarily of foam and latex.

When it comes to price point, Slumberland aims to capture the mid-range price tier while still offering upper range quality. This is evident in the pocket spring support layers offered across the lineup, a support that tops the charts in terms of body contouring and pressure relief.

Read our full Slumberland review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Slumberland: 4.26/5.00
Doze: 4.06/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Slumberland: 4.26/5.00
Doze: 4.06/5.00

Price:
Slumberland: £245.30 - £924.98
Doze: £10.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Slumberland in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Slumberland Owner Satisfaction

Slumberland mattresses are well reviewed, expected given the brands huge selling power. When it comes to customer feedback, reviews are positive with thousands of reviews and happy customers. People particularly enjoyed the luxurious qualities offered from such a reasonably priced mattress with those customers believing they get very good value for money. Other positives come in the form of the support layer, offering full body contouring and pressure relieving qualities that offer a degree of orthopedic comfort that protects and helps against back pain.

Slumberland Supportiveness

When it comes to supportiveness, Slumberland deals almost exclusively with pocket spring base layers. I bring up pocket springs a lot because they are the true mark of a good quality support structure, they generally perform better in tests than open coil traditional springs and reflex foam. Pocket springs offer, on average, better support and better durability, lasting longer than competitors. Slumberland has core parts of their lineup dedicated to orthopedic support which will prove ideal for those looking for additional back and neck support. In terms of firmness, we see a variety of different tensions that will ensure there is something for everyone in the lineup. Recommendations typically see those with back or neck pain navigate toward firmer mattresses, accompanied by back sleepers and heavier weighted people. For those who sleep on their side or are of lower to average weight should perhaps consider a medium tension mattress. With support, it’s all relative and subjective to each person, so consider each mattress on its own individual merit before purchase.

Slumberland Durability

When it comes to durability, Slumberland makes some impressive strides with their lineup. Thanks to the pocket spring support layer you get a better base layer acting as a foundation for everything that sits above. What separates Slumberland from many other manufacturers is that most of the lineup features a 5-10 year guarantee. The guarantee is a testament to the manufacturer's belief in the product they are selling and how long it will typically last. Lots of the industry relies on a 1 year guarantee and helps demonstrate the level of quality offered within Slumberland mattresses. Combine this with the double sided nature of much of the range and you actually get twice the surface area of many competitors, further expanding on longevity and durability.

Slumberland Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Slumberland mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Slumberland Most Useful Customer Reviews

4 Paula

I've only had this mattress about 3 weeks so don't feel I can give 5 stars yet - I may update in 6 months. It has improved in comfort significantly from the first week. The comfort rating is what I would rate it now, not what I would have given if I had reviewed this after the first night. Plus points: - double sided so hopefully it will last longer than my last mattress. Most of the other mattresses available were single sided. - light enough for me to turn and flip on my own (there was no point in it being double-sided if it was too heavy for me to lift). As a middle-aged 5ft2in woman this was the main reason I choose this mattress over others. I recommend going into a store and trying to lift mattresses if this is important to you as a lot of other mattresses were very heavy. - pocket sprung and no memory foam - a plus point if you don't like overheating in the summer. - reasonable price Negative points: - you can't sit on the edge of the mattress - this isn't very important to me, but might be important to others. It's fine for getting into and out of bed, but the edges do not have extra support like some mattresses and sink when you sit on them. - breaking in the mattress to achieve a comfortable sleep took around 2 weeks (although I may be breaking it in for a while yet as I still have some rotating and turning to do). The first few days were very uncomfortable, so much so, that I was regretting my decision. However, I had been warned that mattresses can take a while to break in, and had the 40 day trial to fall back on if necessary, so I persevered. Initially the padding feels very pronounced and solid - more like a very firm mattress than a medium. I also thought I could feel the 'tufts' as small hard lumps. I did not sleep well on it the first couple of nights and had back ache, so I looked up some ways of speeding up the 'breaking in' process. I crawled around on it several times a day and resisted getting a topper (which slows down the breaking in process), although I did sleep on top of a doubled up duvet a couple of times in the first week. I'm happy to say that, 3 weeks on, I'm sleeping well, have no back ache and I'm not noticing the tufts anymore. I don't feel like I would need a topper now and would say the mattress is medium/firm at the moment. The area where I'm sleeping is softer than other areas of the mattress, so I think it probably will be a medium as advertised once it is fully broken in. Overall, I am happy I bought this mattress - just be warned that the breaking-in process means you may be in for some uncomfortable nights to begin with. It wouldn't be suitable if you like to use the edge of your mattress as a place to sit.

5 Jules

I Bought this mattress for a vintage bed with oak wooden head and foot. I never thought about the depth of the mattress when I chose it. When it was delivered it was taken upstairs and put on the bed. I was surprised to see that it had come right to the top of the foot board. I removed the plastic covering and made the bed up with sheets and duvet etc, which of course made it even higher. To get into bed I have to take a little leap. But the mattress is very comfy - firm but comfy that was just what I wanted. It has a gorgeous rich fabric cover on it and I would highly recommend. I just wish it had been a little less deep for my bed.

5 Mr Peter Waddington

Very comfortable, good quality, just what we needed to replace our conventional pocket sprung mattress. We liked that on delivery it was vacuum packed which made it easy to move upstairs. Once opened it took a couple of hours to get to its proper shape, and there was a little bit of a chemical smell for a few days, but not overwhelming. This is the 3rd mattress we have bought in 10 years and we have had comfort issues with all of them except this one. We are really pleased with the comfort, quality and the value for money. We would not hesitate to make a recommendation of this product. We love it.

5 Mr Peter Waddington

Very comfortable, good quality, just what we needed to replace our conventional pocket sprung mattress. We liked that on delivery it was vacuum packed which made it easy to move upstairs. Once opened it took a couple of hours to get to its proper shape, and there was a little bit of a chemical smell for a few days, but not overwhelming. This is the 3rd mattress we have bought in 10 years and we have had comfort issues with all of them except this one. We are really pleased with the comfort, quality and the value for money. We would not hesitate to make a recommendation of this product. We love it.

5 Mr Peter Waddington

Very comfortable, good quality, just what we needed to replace our conventional pocket sprung mattress. We liked that on delivery it was vacuum packed which made it easy to move upstairs. Once opened it took a couple of hours to get to its proper shape, and there was a little bit of a chemical smell for a few days, but not overwhelming. This is the 3rd mattress we have bought in 10 years and we have had comfort issues with all of them except this one. We are really pleased with the comfort, quality and the value for money. We would not hesitate to make a recommendation of this product. We love it.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.