VS
Flaxby logo banner
Doze logo banner

Flaxby vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Flaxby

Flaxby mattresses are sold exclusively by the popular retailer, Dreams. The collection is a more up-market premium brand within the lineup and uses an impressive array of comfortable and soft materials in the upper layers of their mattresses to ensure a natural and comfortable sleeping surface. Flaxby are focussed toward ensuring a greener and fresher sleep that is more environmentally friendly. That’s why they utilise 100% recyclable spring systems and natural fibres to help safeguard the environment for future generations.

A feature unique to Flaxby includes their new all-seasons lineup which sees a two sided mattress which has different comfort layers on each side, giving a “warmer” side and a “cooler” side.

Read our full Flaxby review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Flaxby: 4.17/5.00
Doze: 4.06/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Flaxby: 4.17/5.00
Doze: 4.06/5.00

Price:
Flaxby: £899.00 - £2199.00
Doze: £9.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Flaxby in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Flaxby Owner Satisfaction

Flaxby mattresses are some of the better reviewed in the industry achieving impressive scores on a continual basis that generally outperform the competition. Owners are particularly overjoyed because Flaxby is offering the great comfort and support that we all love but introduce multiple new features that help provide an enhanced sleep experience. Customers particularly enjoyed the all-season range which gave people a deep sleep all year round that kept them cool in summer and warm in winter, the perfect combination.

Customers also enjoyed the natural cotton, wool & hemp fillings that come as standard on many in the lineup with particular attention being drawn to the fantastic 5 year guarantee on most models.

Flaxby Supportiveness

Flaxby mattresses have a great deal of supportiveness thanks to the Cortec™ and DNAir pocket spring systems on offer within the lineup. The Flaxby range is what we consider to be a traditional lineup with typical high quality manufacturing processes that result in luxurious and supportive mattresses. Pocket springs have generally remained unrivaled over the years and are my own personal favourite support layer when it comes to offering good tension for back and neck support. Many of the products on offer are available with multiple tension options which means you have a choice around how firm you would like the product to be. Depending on how you sleep (front, back, side) to how much you weigh are all determinations when choosing the right supportiveness.

Flaxby Durability

Flaxby mattresses will typically perform better in terms of true longevity than many other mattress suppliers due to their large investment in good quality pocket spring support layers combined with tried and tested comfort layers of wool and silk. The combination of these materials gives customers confidence but also the retailer, Dreams. This is evident in their backing of this product lineup with the impressive 5 year guarantee that ensures long standing support in the event of any manufacturing defects. The price point for Flaxby may often price certain people out of the market who are looking for something a little cheaper, however, when you consider the lifespan and the cost per night of sleep as a result, the Flaxby offers a fantastic opportunity for sleepers thanks to its durability and comfort.

Flaxby Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Flaxby mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Flaxby Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Dream Lover

My last bed was a supersized king divan style base with an orthopaedic mattress which I had for the last 15 years and it was a bit too large for the flat I moved into a few years ago so thought it time to change over to a double. I have always wanted a chunky wooden framed bed with a nice soft mattress & finally decided to take the plunge and ordered a frame off the web in the same style as my other bedroom furniture and then started looking for a mattress that I liked and found this one Dreams which sounded just right. I can tell you after spending 15 years sleeping on what might as well have been a rock the new mattress is like sleeping on a cloud. The mattress gives me a tremendous amount of support, yet it has a nice soft finish to it that I just sink into when I get into bed at night. It is beautifully finished with handles on all four sides making it easy to rotate even though it is quite a heavy mattress. My only wish is that I had spotted the Moore Wooden chunky bedframe on the Dreams website before I had ordered the frame that I did because that looks a lot sturdier that the one I bought is. I do have one small problem though and that is that it isn’t only me that has fallen in love with the new mattress, so have the cats who spend the bulk of the day relaxing on it and get a bit disgruntled when it comes to bed time and I have to get into it but they soon find their way back onto it when they think I have fallen asleep. So it seems that it isn’t only me who now get a great night’s sleep on my new 6500 DNAir mattress! But prehaps I should have gone for the king size to accomopdate all of us.

4 Ilovecomfybeds

I bought this earlier in the year, so it's been in use for about six months now. I wanted a good quality British made mattress, and this fits the bill. I was also attracted where it said it would help keep me cooler in warm weather. But to be honest I have not noticed it keep me any cooler in the hot weather than my previous matress, so that is slightly disappointing, however it is wonderfully comfortable and supportive. It's a heavy mattress but it is easier to turn that my previous mattess as I do not need to flip it over, just rotate it flat. The handles are good and strong for that. The way I feel now, I would definitely select this mattress and manufacturer again when it comes to replace it. This is also the first time I have bought from Dreams, and I will say their service was extremely good. They kept me informed, agreed the delivery date, the delivery people kept me informed on the time they would arrive and checked what my road was like, parking and access to the house. When they arrived they were polite. Took the old mattress away, explained how to look after my new mattress. I love my mattress and I cannot fault the service I got from Dreams. Thank you.

4 Rachael777

I spent ages looking for pillows with both natural filling and covers. I could have spent hundreds on hungarian goose down pillows, but decided to opt for these based on their good reviews. They need airing before using, and even after airing, one of the pillows had a definite duck smell about it which seems to be disappearing now. I doesn't say on the description but the filling is 85% duck feather and 15% down, which for the price is good value in comparison to others. The feathers do make a crackling sound which i believe is the quills breaking. The pillows are very full when plumped up but squash down easily. I bought 2 pillows because i didn't know how flat they would go after use but i find 2 pillows slightly too high to sleep on my side and definitely too high for front sleepers, 1 is enough. The cotton covers do stop feathers from poking out, however i also bought myself some downproof pillow protectors from Dunelm Mill for double protection. Since i bought these, i stayed at a hotel with Tielle feather pillows which were amazing and I'd definitely recommend them for a great night sleep although haven't checked out their prices.

5 Estella

After trying all the mattresses in the shop, I came back to this one every time. It was expensive for me but with interest free credit it was doable. We had not charged our mattress for 20 years so felt the investment was worth it. So after a difficult transition into the home,it took 3 adult males to carry it up the stairs,i have now slept in it for 3 weeks. I have a cartilage knee problem and my previous hard mattress with a dip in it, offered it no respite from spending the night lodged harshly against it. On my new mattress I am sleeping well, it is far softer than the previous one and offers my knee the support it needs. I also had back pain as I settled down in the previous one that has now gone too. The new mattress is also warmer than the last one. It is much larger too, as it is a mattress with an added topper, my sheets barely fit now but they stay in place because you sink into the soft expanses of this mattress and really do not move much during the night. Do I want to get out of bed in the morning, the answer is no. I am very pleased with my purchase and should have done it years ago.

5 GwynD

An excellent experience from shop to home! We visited our local Dreams shop in Reading Rose Kiln Lane about a couple months before Christmas. We really wanted a new mattress that would be comfortable and would be easy on my wife's back (as she has had back problems in the past). We tried out several mattresses and narrowed our choice to two. As we deliberated a young sale advisor suggested that we try out the mattress simulator (not sure its correct name) to help us decide. The simulator suggested the same two mattresses that we had selected. We then choose one. Throoughout the whole process the advisor was helpful, instructive, polite, attentive and not pushy. We ordered the mattress. We were kept in touch with its progress via text. It was delivered when it was promised and the old mattress was removed without fuss. The mattress is absolutely brilliant to sleep. It suits both of us and is especially supportive to my wife's weak back. The only critism is that it is harderer to get out of bed in the morning because it is so comfortable.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.