VS
Sealy logo banner
Doze logo banner

Sealy vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sealy

Sealy has formerly separated from Silentnight, who once managed the UK arm of the popular retailer and will now be re-acquired by Tempur Sealy International. For those who don’t know, Sealy is the world's biggest bed brand that’s not down to luck, Sealy mattresses are highly regarded and at a price point that is achievable for the vast majority of people. What’s more, the company produces handmade beds right here in the UK using some of the finest fillings and upholstery.

Sealy’s Posturepedic technology makes it ideal for those with back and neck pain looking for that additional bit of support, becoming the only partner to be approved under the Orthopedic Advisory Board

Read our full Sealy review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sealy: 4.47/5.00
Doze: 4.12/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Sealy: 4.47/5.00
Doze: 4.12/5.00

Price:
Sealy: £161.96 - £1509.95
Doze: £9.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Sealy in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Sealy Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction is at the heart of what Sealy offers. Since their inception Sealy has offered numerous different base and comfort layers to try and appease all areas of the market. The company has largely remained successful in their plight thanks to their strong support within the mid-tier market. Customers are most satisfied with the company's firm orthopaedic mattresses, for which they have become renowned.

Sealy Supportiveness

The Sealy lineup includes everything from soft through to firm tensions. The most popular in the range are the mediums which give the best overall support for most people, pairing well with the pocket spring support layer to offer full body contouring for all-round support without feeling too-firm.

For those looking for a bit more support, Sealy has firmness grades exceeding firm and entering extra-firm territory. We would personally recommend these only for specific circumstances as comfort is reduced slightly to better aid support.

Sealy Durability

When it comes to durability Sealy performs in line with expectation. We do see a bit of fallout from some of the cheaper in the range, particularly the open coil sprung models which, combined with a single sided comfort layer often do not have long-lasting properties and may not afford as good value as initially perceived due to their reduced operating lifespan. Contrary to this is the excellent pocket sprung options on offer from Sealy, particularly when paired with a double sided comfort layer. A combination of these will ensure you get a long standing mattress that will last far better and in-line with the average expectancy where people typically look at replacing their mattress (7 years)

Sealy Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Sealy mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Sealy Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Verified Buyer

I wanted to 'wait' before posting my review as I was told by my chiropractor it takes around a month for your body to adjust to a new mattress...Having experience a back impact injury February 2016, I have been VERY impatient for it to be resolved quickly. This not being the case!This is my 3rd mattress tried and I must say the 'only' one that has made a difference :) (In saying that I have also had to purchased several pillows, 9 to date, in order to alleviate my pain fully.)I adore the firmness of the mattress and 'feel' I am getting the support in the correct place. I literally sleep the whole night through. I had been waking feeling a little stiffness, but this has now gone. The tightness in my middle back is definitely reduced, as my 'monthly deep tissue massage' is testament to.I'm pleased that the mattress is deep and had no problem getting a fitted sheet to cover it. With a mattress protector nor did I notice the button detail mentioned by several people- I just do not feel them. It was no issue for me- I'm getting (finally) a great night's sleep :)The handles on the sides have made it easier to manhandle, although it is quite hefty, we managed. I have not yet had to turn it.I did do my research however prior to buying, both with comparing prices to other sites (this one is TRULY exceptionally competitively priced!!) and with reading other people's reviews to make my final selection.What can I say... I am a VERY satisfied customer, getting probably a better night's sleep than I did prior to my injury and would thoroughly recommend my purchase :)

5 Dr.Jon

This is the probably the third or fourth Sealy mattress we have bought over the years - we have never been disappointed. This particular purchase was to replace the 30 year old mattress we have had since we were married, that had been relegated to the spare room - it needed replacing ! Our current mattress in our main bedroom is a king size posturetech Sealy mattress which is extremely comfortable and we thought any house guests deserve the same. Both myself and my wife have various arthritic joints and the mattress gives good, comfortable support when sleeping. I have slept on the new mattress a few times now, and would rate it's firmness as definitely the firmer side of medium, rather than the 'medium' stated - but I have always preferred a firmer mattress so no complaints from me. To sum up, a well made mattress, reasonably priced for the quality, and most importantly, comfortable and supportive.

5 Verified Buyer

I like the topping. It provides a soft comfortable layer to lie on. So far hasnt flattened. I had it a month ish. Look's quality. Dosnt make my ribs ake when I lie on my front and i get back ake regular. From muscular n slip disc. But i sleep better on this. I would say the spring system is medium hard. Something like silent nights poket sprung award winner for this year. It dosnt envelop you like one i tryed. If your putting it on a slatted frame wood or other . I had to go and buy hard board to put over my frame to be able to use it . The spring system dose seem to give a little to become more soft after about a week. You may need deeper fitted sheets. The delivery men kindly took it to the top of the stairs for me. would have been to heavy for me alone.

5 redkitewatcher

After owning our past bed for 15 years decided to buy a new mattress. Took all day to try out beds at several different bed stores over town , before returning to Dreams. Very helpful staff offering lots of advice but giving us plenty of time to try beds and come to our decision. Even offered us a cup of coffee. Paid a deposit and given a delivery date on the spot. Bed arrived on day expected and even though a difficult spot up a narrow staircase to put the bed the two delivery men did it with no problem or complaint. Took a few days to get used to a different mattress, panicing at first we had made wrong decision but within the week was having the best sleep in years. Bad thing is its very hard to get out of bed in the morning !

5 Verified Buyer

Love this Sealy mattress. My partner now turns over in bed and I barely notice (unlike the tidal wave effect of our last mattress)due to the pocket springs. I prefer a medium to firm mattress and my partner an extremely firm one but we both find this mattress to be firm and supportive and yet the memory form is enough to make it comfortable when lying on your side. We are both having better nights sleep than we have in years. It feels larger as you can lie on it right to the edge without it collapsing and we are both over 6 feet tall and heavier than average adults. I have found some memory foam mattresses to feel hot and have a strange smell but this remains cool and a comfortable temperature and no noticeable odour.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.