VS
Hyde-And-Sleep logo banner
Doze logo banner

Hyde-And-Sleep vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hyde-And-Sleep

Still fairly new to the mattress-industry, the Hyde and Sleep brand was the first real attempt from Dreams to get into the popular and saturated bed in a box segment, going head to head with the likes of Simba, Nectar and Otty. The main selling point of the brand is that they are able to offer a market leading sleep solution at a cheaper price than equivalent models in the existing Dreams lineup thanks to reduced logistical issues and reduced delivery costs. Having won multiple industry awards, the Hyde and Sleep range frequently tops charts in comfort and support.

Read our full Hyde-And-Sleep review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hyde-And-Sleep: 4.62/5.00
Doze: 4.67/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Hyde-And-Sleep: 4.62/5.00
Doze: 4.67/5.00

Price:
Hyde-And-Sleep: £399.00 - £1099.00
Doze: £10.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Doze in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Hyde-And-Sleep Owner Satisfaction

Owner satisfaction within the lineup is good with thousands of reviews over the last few years against the multiple models available. The reviews make particular mention to the impressive levels of support given, with back pain and orthopaedic support being particularly important to customers. Others enjoyed the foam comfort layer and the softer upper with multiple comments from genuine customers who find them “Extremely comfortable. Has made a significant difference to the quality of sleep”.

Hyde-And-Sleep Supportiveness

When it comes to support, Hyde and Sleep have two different support structures, one in the hybrid variety which combines foam and micro springs, and another focussing on pure foam. The tension within these models tends to be firmer than what you get with other manufacturers, with firm to extra-firm being commonplace across the majority of the segment. Customers find the supportive nature of these models ideal for back pain relief with so many comments making mention of the fantastic back support offered.

Hyde-And-Sleep Durability

Durability and longevity are both areas that are key to good quality control. The guarantee offered on Hyde and Sleep mattresses comes in at a lower 1-year guarantee which is smaller than those of competing bed-in-a-box brands and is an area of concern for the brand. Fortunately long-term reviews suggest only minor quality control and settlement issues affecting a small number of customers which should give a reasonable amount of confidence for those that are set on a Hyde and Sleep.

Hyde-And-Sleep Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Hyde-And-Sleep mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Hyde-And-Sleep Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Jacob F

It's been over 6 months since I bought this mattress, and it absolutely changed my life, literally. For my whole life my sleeping quality was very bad, I used to sleep no more than 5-6 hours, I was waking up during the night, I've had a bad back, and was waking up tired every day. I changed my diet, I had a consultation with my GP - nothing helped. I just got used to it, and I thought that's just the way I do, tough. After moving home I decided to buy a new mattress (the one I had before seemed to be good), and I got this one from dreams. The first week or 10 days were weird. I didn't know if maybe I picked the wrong one, or maybe it's faulty, I just couldn't find the right position to sleep etc. But it must of been just my body adjusting to it I guess, because after around a week till now.. OMG. It is insane, it is the best thing I have ever purchased in my life. Literally every day when I wake up, I just can't get over how much I love it. My partner is the same, it's just unbelievable how well we sleep now. I do not wake up in the middle of the night even once, when before I did even 5 times. The quality of my sleep now is absolutely fantastic, I can easily sleep 8-10 hours now, and every morning I feel energised and happy. As much as we all missing going on holiday because of the pandemic, a part of me now is worried that wherever I go now, I will have to sleep on different mattress than mine, and it makes me just tiny bit anxious. I have recommended it to everyone I know and I can recommend it to you all. The mattress is classed as very firm, but you sleep like on the cloud. It adjusts to your body perfectly. We wanted to buy the super king, but the frame we liked was king size, and we were worried it may be to small, but it's absolutely not, even if one person is heavier, then it does not affect the other one, you have your kind of cloud around you and you just perfectly sink in. This is the longest review I ever made, but I felt like I have to, like I owe that to Dreams - thank you. I have never slept better than now.

5 Cholly17

Having had a medium/firm mattress for the last god-knows-how-many years, and both of us developing bad backs from it, we decided to shop for a new one. After much consideration, we settled on this mattress and WHAT A DIFFERENCE.l! It's much firmer than we're used to, so it did take a few nights to get properly accustomed to it but despite the "very firm" rating, it's very comfortable. I'm normally a very light and broken sleeper, due to how much my partner flops around during the night, how much the bed shakes because of that, and how much of a bad back I develop during the night, and I'm normally up and awake by 5am in a moderate amount of pain, but last night I finally managed a full 7 hours sleep and my lower back pain is almost gone! The memory foam quickly adjusts to a new sleeping position, and it's the perfect amount of softness to cushion you, and firmness to support you. Don't be put off by it being "extra firm", it's nothing like sleeping on hardwood flooring! Both myself and my partner are really tall (6ft and 6ft5), and we have a lot of excess lockdown weight so if anyone's on the larger side, I can fully vouch for this mattress if you're worried about that being a problem. This mattress also stands firm with my partner constantly flopping around during the night - I've barely noticed it these last few nights! One last thing, would be to talk about the design. As a hybrid, we really liked the springs and foam combination. I know springs aren't supportive enough for a larger person, and foam by itself for me is way too soft, but this bed is an absolute dream! The springs are underneath the foam and they're VERY supportive, and the foam is the perfect amount of cushion. An all-round brilliantly supportive mattress and we're super pleased with our purchase, and the service we received!

5 Ntei

I spent a long time choosing a mattress, insecure about quality and durability of so many. Have had this Hyde and Sleep Extra Firm Hybrid mattress for two weeks and love it. No chemical odour. It is very firm and has only softened very slightly (Hyde and Sleep Hybrid mattresses are available in a range of firmness, I chose the firmest). Have partially prolapsed discs in my lower spine and this mattress is so comfortable and supportive that I genuinely love lying on it. Both my backache and sleep have improved. It terms of temperature regulation, I find it just right; it holds enough warmth for me to not get chilly, but not enough to overheat (but I am not an overly hot person). It would be nice if it had handles, which it doesn't. Also wish that it wasn't made of plastic, but most mattresses are. Would be good to write another review in a years time to see how the mattress wears, but so far, would say that this is an excellent mattress. I have never paid this much for a mattress before, but on consideration, although I think it a bit expensive, it is much better quality than other mattresses that I have had and I would buy it again. I purchased the Bed Cover Primary Insurance as well, which covers any damage or fault with the mattress for eight years. Dreams have said, that all parts of their mattresses are recyclable, either via them when purchasing a new bed from them, or via the local Council recycling scheme.

5 PainfulKate

I am 37 and suffer with chronic pain conditions including a spinal injury, severe fibromyalgia throughout my body and arthritis in some parts. I knew I wanted a sprung mattress with memory foam, firm support and none of those uncomfortable buttons all over the top and had ordered 2 mattresses online that claimed to have the features I wanted but in real life they didn't do the job so I decided I needed to actually lie on a mattress before spending any money. The tester bed in Dreams Stafford gave a result which completely matched my own perceived requirements for comfort. This Hyde and Sleep Raspberry mattress was on the list of recommendations, within the price I deemed reasonable for my requirements given my disabilities and the inevitable extra time I have to spend in bed. After testing a few others I kept coming back to this one. I am delighted with my purchase, it took a few nights for my body to adjust, having slept on inadequate mattresses for over a year. My back stopped feeling tender in some places and the memory foam is noticeably quicker to return from the shape and weight of my body when I get out of bed. I love it, it is everything I had in my mind that I wanted, the additional guarantee and insurance offered in store was a no brainer. I can thoroughly recommend this mattress if you are looking for firm with no buttons, and especially if you are disabled due to pain in multiple regions of your body.

5 PainfulKate

I am 37 and suffer with chronic pain conditions including a spinal injury, severe fibromyalgia throughout my body and arthritis in some parts. I knew I wanted a sprung mattress with memory foam, firm support and none of those uncomfortable buttons all over the top and had ordered 2 mattresses online that claimed to have the features I wanted but in real life they didn't do the job so I decided I needed to actually lie on a mattress before spending any money. The tester bed in Dreams Stafford gave a result which completely matched my own perceived requirements for comfort. This Hyde and Sleep Raspberry mattress was on the list of recommendations, within the price I deemed reasonable for my requirements given my disabilities and the inevitable extra time I have to spend in bed. After testing a few others I kept coming back to this one. I am delighted with my purchase, it took a few nights for my body to adjust, having slept on inadequate mattresses for over a year. My back stopped feeling tender in some places and the memory foam is noticeably quicker to return from the shape and weight of my body when I get out of bed. I love it, it is everything I had in my mind that I wanted, the additional guarantee and insurance offered in store was a no brainer. I can thoroughly recommend this mattress if you are looking for firm with no buttons, and especially if you are disabled due to pain in multiple regions of your body.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.