VS
Dunlopillo logo banner
Doze logo banner

Dunlopillo vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dunlopillo

Dunlopillo have been in the mattress “game” for nearly a century, dating back to 1929 when a scientist created what we know today as Dunlopillo Latex. The latex would form the backbone of all future mattresses and a staple of the industry as a whole.

The company has since gone under new ownership and sees itself as part of the Relyon group where it enjoys an enviable position as one of the market leaders in latex mattresses around the UK and worldwide. If you are looking for a mattress that possesses many of the qualities of memory foam without the downsides of heat build up, latex could be for you.

Read our full Dunlopillo review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Dunlopillo: 4.99/5.00
Doze: 4.66/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Dunlopillo: 4.99/5.00
Doze: 4.66/5.00

Price:
Dunlopillo: £513.24 - £1949.95
Doze: £ - £


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Dunlopillo in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Dunlopillo Owner Satisfaction

Dunlopillo ranks highly on consumer satisfaction with numerous good and well-reviewed products across the entire lineup. Many consumers comment on how their Dunlopillo mattresses far exceed the average, with some lasting for over 20 years. In fact, with consumers happy with the comfort and tension of the mattress, the only real complaint is around the lack of turning handles on particular models. This does create a minor inconvenience when it comes to rotations but does help highlight just how impressive the lineup is when the largest vocal problem is around handles.

When you consider the life expectancy of a Dunlopillo mattress on average and look at the cost per night of sleep as a result, the entire range makes for incredible value for money.

Dunlopillo Supportiveness

Customers are largely happy with the support offered by these mattresses. Featuring a wide array of tensions from soft through to firm it means that there is always a Dunlopillo mattress suitable for you, regardless of body type and sleeping preference. The tension and supportiveness of these mattresses is offset by the top layer of the product being latex, which will offer a degree of softness and comfort within the upper layer of the mattress, helping to create a unique experience with the support layer below.

Dunlopillo mattresses also feature an impressive amount of edge support which allows you to make full use of the product. Many cheaper brands do not have this feature which means you do not have the confidence while sleeping close to the edge of the mattress where it feels like it would otherwise be “giving way”

Dunlopillo Durability

As mentioned within customer satisfaction, there are people still sleeping on a Dunlopillo mattress 20 years later. That alone tells you all you need to know about durability. Handcrafted within the UK and featuring hypoallergenic materials with a rugged yet soft cover, these mattresses are durable and well reviewed.

Dunlopillo mattresses tend to be a little more expensive than competing products but the latex upper layer brings a unique feature that many other brands have failed to emulate. Personally, we find the latex to be long lasting and have many benefits over competing memory foam products.

Dunlopillo Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Dunlopillo mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Dunlopillo Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 C Cooper

I have a back condition. I bought this mattress some years ago and loved it. I needed a new mattress and stupidly purchased a different, very expensive one and regretted it. It had to be turned often but was too heavy for me so I ended up sleeping in a dip.The millennium doesn't need turning. I've given my mattress away and purchased a new millennium and i'm very comfortable. You don't want to get up though!

5 Verified Buyer

I first had a new Dunlopillo mattress (bed) in 1984 and I slept comfortably everafter. I reluctantly had to get rid in 1912 as i was downsizing and moving many miles down south taking only the two single beds in my spare room , which had nothing wrong with them but not as comfortable as I thought. I decided to return to what I knew and I'm so glad I did, my new mattress is heavenly!

5 Verified Buyer

This is our third Dunlopillo mattress in 40 years - we love them! The support of the Celeste is not too firm but feels very supportive and I??m 14st. The slightly softer top layer feels really ??snuggly?? without detracting from the firm support. It also makes the bed warmer throughout the night without being too warm.

5 Mike Armitage

Always wanted another one, and this is excellent! extremely comfortable and very happy with no more noise from springs, as this is all-latex - more expensive, but well worth saving up for!there were some cheaper deals around, but we needed this reasonably quickly, and were prepared to pay extra.

5 Verified Buyer

My first Dunlopillo mattress remained comfortable supportive from 1975 to 2022! Also, you never have to turn these mattressesIt might have lasted me out but I'm glad I bought this new one as it is even more comfortable, if that is possible.Very pleased with this new one.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 Kath223

My Doze Spring mattress was bought with the usual hope in reviews from others that this would give my grandchildren the ‘ perfect night’s sleep ‘. I SO wanted them to love their new beds ( two of them and therefore two mattresses ) so it was a very important decision to make . Their new ‘ Jungle bedroom ‘ was ready and waiting and our grandson was the first very excited little boy to see what was waiting for him - all the animals and two very lovely cosy beds - his mum lifting the bedding and feeling the depth and quality of the mattress by pressing her hands down into it . One tired little boy slept all night and didn’t want to go home - 3 nights later he was still sleeping , just so so comfortably - with jungle animals all around his bed ! I would recommend this mattress without question and although I was a little bit skeptical , the mattress did indeed puff up beautifully within just a few hours of arrival . Our grandson is 3 years old - I thought I’d add that fact as it can help hugely when knowing what to order .