VS
Igel logo banner
Doze logo banner

Igel vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Igel

iGel mattresses are exclusive to Bensons for Beds and generally sit in the more executive and luxury lineup. Pricing may be higher than other products but the materials utilised within the mattresses more than makes up for this. Featuring support layers of pocket springs and comfort layers of gel, you get a cooling experience with full body contouring and fantastic longevity. iGel and Bensons for Beds have a history of providing good quality mattresses that last and have some of the best reviews in the industry.

Read our full Igel review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Igel: 4.18/5.00
Doze: 4.06/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Igel: 4.18/5.00
Doze: 4.06/5.00

Price:
Igel: £799.99 - £1849.99
Doze: £9.00 - £299.00


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Igel in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Igel Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction is important to both Bensons for Beds and their iGel lineup. Being at the top of brands through the site, the manufacturer is held in high regard and is well reviewed by thousands of happy customers. Customers particularly enjoy the comfort layer which they say offers a cooling experience over equivalent memory foam alternatives. This is because gel breathes better and doesn’t cause heat buildup giving a better all-season mattress that performs well regardless of the weather.

I’ve personally trialled some of the iGel range in store and found some of the tensions to be on the firmer side, in-line with the designation the mattresses have been given. Regardless of which you choose, customers should be satisfied with the tension of the product.

Igel Supportiveness

The support on iGel mattresses is not derived from the gel layer as this is the comfort layer at the top, instead the support is offered from the pocket springs beneath. Pocket springs are universally fantastic and are my personal favourite when it comes to support systems. The result of this layer is an extremely supportive mattress regardless of which tension you choose, offering full body contouring with an impressive lifespan and increased breathability.

Igel Durability

Most mattresses have a traditional 1 year warranty and that is normally a fairly reasonable indicator as to how much trust the manufacturer has in their product. Naturally the better the components, the more durable they are and as such, manufacturers have more confidence in their lifespan and will guarantee them for longer. With iGel, not only are you getting high quality pocket springs combined with luxurious gel layers, but you are also getting a 10 year guarantee on all new mattresses coming out of the lineup. This goes a long way towards highlighting the durability of these mattresses and the lengths the manufacturer is going to in order to ensure long-standing satisfaction.

With a 10 year guarantee you will exceed the average lifecycle of 7 years, giving you better value and reducing the cost per night of sleep throughout its lifespan. As a result, while an iGel mattress may cost more initially, the need to replace later decreases real world costs.

Igel Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Igel mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Igel Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Generated

"We had a memory foam mattress that needed replacing a so we decided on this igel mattress as it claimed to disperse the heat more effectively, we had to wait for 4 weeks for it to be delivered but having tried it for 2 nights this mattress is significantly cooler than our previous memory foam mattress, it is a firmer rating which I will have to adjust to, but it is fine. I suffer from severe pain and insomnia so I was rather concerned about trying a new mattes but I did manage a little more sleep than normal over the last couple of nights, so I am hopeful! The chemical smell was strong for the first night, but by the second night it had faded. The one thing we didn't realise was how much deeper this mattress is compared to our old one, so we will have to buy new sheets and I struggled to get into bed as I am small!, so on the whole we are pleased with our purchase, just wish I could have afforded the matching bed frame to go with the mattress. Spending a lot of money on a mattress is a consideration for us all but we spend a lot of time sleeping (if we are lucky) so it is money well spent."

5 Generated

"We tried this mattress in the shop and it felt extremely comfortable. We were also taken by the idea of a mattress which regulates body temperature (thinking about the summer months). Having now had the mattress four days my advice is "don't be taken in by the sales pitch". Every night we have struggled with overheating which has never been an issue before. Both myself and my husband ache all over, and we are exhausted having struggled to sleep on such an uncomfortable bed. We have therefore decided to send the mattress back. However be warned as when I called to arrange for the mattress to be returned Bensons told me they deduct 10% of the mattress value if we choose a new mattress through them (and no refund of difference if the mattress is cheaper than the original) or 20% if we request a refund. All in all a terrible shopping experience with Bensons and we shan't be using them again."

5 Generated

"I was initially sceptical after reading the reviews. I had already bought the mattress and was dreading delivery. But i can honestly say the mattress is AMAZING. My previous mattress was awful and giving me terrible back pain. This mattress is so supportive and i have not had any pain for over a week. I was previously waking from every move of my partner. Not anymore. We both get a great night's sleep every night. We didn't take any time to get used to it. Perfect from the first sleep. I have not noticed any smell associated with the mattress as others have mentioned. Only suggestion is to add handles to the side as it is very difficult to move, even with 2 people it's extremely heavy. Worth every penny. Thanks"

5 Generated

"We're rather disappointed in this expensive mattress. Our immediate impression was comfort, with the gel layer on top, but we dislike the way we sink into this mattress. We question the quality of the springs underneath the gel as the ROLL-TOGETHER factor is AWFUL. We always seem to end up in a hot sweaty dip in the centre of the bed and it's a real effort to get up and out! Maybe we should have gone for the more expensive version but that might have been an even bigger waste of money. Such a disappointment when we thought we were treating ourselves. I wish we'd stuck with an ordinary quality pocket sprung mattress with no roll-together and a lot more support."

5 Generated

"I have had this mattress for a few weeks now. It helped alot with my back pain however, it seems to form a deep on each side of the mattress, where we sleep, and the middle of the mattress remains higher. This gives me the sensation of rolling out of bed, even if we have purchased a king size. Other than that it's quite comfortable; the top layer is softer whilst the rest is firm, thus allowing less movement of the mattress when one of us shifts. Please keep in mind that this mattress is quite thick. Having it on my bed frame, which is quite tall as well, makes me have to 'climb' in bed. I will have to buy new taller bedside tables to be able to reach them."

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.