VS
Tempur logo banner
Doze logo banner

Tempur vs Doze Mattresses

Want Mattress is supported by readers. Some links on Want Mattress are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Want Mattress may make a small amount of money. More info.

Tempur

Tempur was first born in the 1980’s to relatively lukewarm acclaim, see, it was the memory foam that really got Tempur finding it’s stride and this didn’t happen until 1991, becoming one of the first companies in the world to see the commercial benefits of what is now known today as memory foam.

Today Tempur is one of the largest mattress companies in the UK and serves thousands of customers yearly with its high quality no-compromise foam filled mattresses. The Tempur brand carries huge weight and is available in many bedding and chain retailers throughout. The standout features of Tempur have given customers a great night's sleep for decades with many spending their life on a mattress from this company, not having needed to swap out far beyond the traditional 7-year buying cycle.

With competitive pricing and unique memory foam bounce-back comfort, it’s not hard to see why Tempur are leading the way some 40 years after inception.

Read our full Tempur review

Doze

Doze mattresses are fairly new to the industry, first appearing within the Dreams retailers lineup in 2019. The Doze brand focuses toward bed-in-a-box offerings that are typically foam based and have a great cost to value proposition thanks to the savings offered through logistical advantages that a boxed product affords. Price points aren’t the only thing that stands out with Doze however, since they are sold exclusively through Dreams you receive some of the best-in-industry customer service. A select few of the Doze lineup feature a hybrid support layer which offers great pocket spring support combined with comfort and body contouring of memory foam comfort layers and reflex foam support layers.

Read our full Doze review

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Tempur: 4.79/5.00
Doze: 4.68/5.00

Customer Satisfaction:
Tempur: 4.79/5.00
Doze: 4.68/5.00

Price:
Tempur: £55.00 - £2499.00
Doze: £ - £


Based on aggregated reviews and performance scoring, we would recommend Tempur in this face off!


Becky
Compares

Tempur Owner Satisfaction

Tempur owner satisfaction is one of the main reasons why people go on to buy another Tempur when the time eventually comes to replace. See, Tempur mattresses are almost seen as part of a ‘cult’, once you’ve slept on one, the idea of moving to an alternate brand no longer makes sense. Reviews for Tempur mattresses consistently talk of the great night's sleep that comes with purchase and one which is rarely regretted.

Tempur mattresses are ranked number 1 for customer satisfaction in multiple countries across the world, highlighting their positive experiences and why one should be considered. Price points may serve as an issue for those looking for something a little cheaper, however, the reputation for improving the quality of people’s sleep cannot be overstated.

Tempur Supportiveness

When it comes to supportiveness you could be forgiven for looking beyond Tempur mattresses. After all, the memory foam comfort layer that is unique to Tempur is, as the name suggests, for comfort and not reflective of the support systems on offer. Fortunately Tempur mattresses now feature TEMPUR® Support Material for an outstanding support layer that is unique to the brand and not available on competing products. What’s more, the company has created a small but pointed range of mattresses to ensure that whatever your support preference of soft, medium or firm, there is something for everyone.

My personal preference continues to be the medium firmness tension which offers enough support with enough “give” to ensure you will sink deep into the mattress which makes it ideal for the average person sleeping on their side.

Tempur Durability

Different Tempur products have different guarantees but I do think it is particularly telling of the Tempur durability that their mattress lineup will most frequently come with a 10 year guarantee. This guarantee is a testament to the confidence the manufacturer has in their products. After all, each Tempur mattress takes around 60 hours to make (according to Tempur themselves), and in that time they go through up to 67 different quality and assurance tests to ensure that you get the right product that is built to last.

So much of the competition features 1 year guarantees which make it harder to justify the case that their durability is of a primary concern.

Tempur Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Tempur mattresses.

Doze Owner Satisfaction

Satisfaction within the Doze brand is really strong, with a satisfaction score of 4.12/5.00 at time of writing. Owners particularly enjoy the supreme levels of comfort offered from the memory foam, with people finding that they are not getting too warm while they sleep, something that can often occur with foam. Thanks to breathable covers and the hybrid support layer there is enough breathability to prevent moisture build up and ensure a great night's sleep.

Owners were also satisfied with the back support offered on the vast majority of the lineup, with medium and firm support layers doing much of the body contouring necessary to ensure adequate tension.

Doze Supportiveness

Doze has great levels of support due to the hybrid pocket springs. These hybrid springs are smaller in depth than traditional pocket springs due to their need to be compacted as part of the “bed in a box” market model that Doze undertakes. The smaller springs do not result in less support however, as the springs are paired with a traditional foam support base of medium to firm tension that combined together offer a great deal of support and body contouring.

Doze Durability

Most of the Doze lineup has soft touch knitted covers as a feature. This type of cover works well in providing a decent amount of hard-wearing protection that will do well to maximise durability. Feedback from users suggests that there are no major complaints surrounding expected lifespan and while the Doze lineup is still fairly new, the rolled mattress market has long proven itself as being able to rival the lifespan of traditional mattresses. With this in mind, and with the average mattress lasting 7 years, we have no concerns as to the performance and durability of the current lineup.

Doze Best Offers

We've managed to find the following top deals from across the web on Doze mattresses.

Tempur Most Useful Customer Reviews

5

So having had this mattress around 4 weeks now and having slept on the cloud mattress for 4 weeks I can say this mattress has made a difference to my sleep. So previously I had a memory foam mattress from Ikea which cost me around £300, it was quite hard but we made do with it as I guess other things in life take precedent. Over the last year or so I developed a shooting pain in my shoulder blade on the left side, I put this down to being a muddled sleeper with my arm under my head while sleeping etc. So I made the decision to look into a good mattress which would possibly help with the pain I was often getting, I can honestly say this mattress has helped me personally, my pain has now almost gone and I believe this to be down to the mattress supporting my body where it needs it, I recently stayed away for a short break and the place we stayed had a spring mattress, the next day my shooting pain came back, once I got back home and slept on my Tempur again the pain has gone so I'm sure the Tempur is doing what it's supposed to do. I was very reluctant in spending around £1700 on a king size mattress as it's a lot of money but sucked it up and made the purchase. I'm glad I did now as the mattress is great and has helped me massively personally. If you have any aches or pains and are considering this mattress, give it a go as Dreams do offer a 100 nights money back guarantee so you've nothing to loose. Also look out for when offers are on, Dreams usually offer Tempur pillows and mattress protectors with in the cost of the mattress if you keep an eye out at key times of the year, NY, Xmas and Black Friday sales.

5 Doug G

While the price may seem a little steep at first, I can safely say after a month of use that these pillows are worth every penny. Hands down the best pillow I have ever owned. I was able to try one out while looking for a new mattress, and was skeptical at first, taking it as a bit of an expensive gimmick, but, wow, 10 minutes of use in-store and I was sold. The obvious USP is the CoolTouch feature and it really lives up to the name - it is always cool to the touch. The pillow does warm up a little during use, but you can simply move your head to another part of it to experience that cool pillow feeling again - meaning no more pillow flipping in the middle of the night to get the cool side. It really is something else. The support the pillow provides is also fantastic. I'm a restless sleeper, and fall asleep on my front, but will move around in the night so that I could be on my side or back and it is equally as comfortable for all sleeping positions. My head sinks into the pillow just the right amount, and the pillow springs back to shape very quickly when I move. A great balance of softness/comfort and support. The removable, washable cover is also very handy for keeping your pillows fresher for longer. The ONLY drawback, if you can call it that, is that there is a slight smell to the pillows when you initally start using them, I imagine this is something to do with the CoolTouch feature. But this has already disappeared for me after a month of use. Overall, I couldn't be happier, would recommend these to anyone.

5 Oldmaltman

OK, so having broken my back 40 years ago, I’ve spent a fair chunk of my disposable income on different mattresses and beds, latex, pocket sprung, Vi-Spring - you get my drift. Sadly, none of these gave me exactly the correct amount of support in the places where this was crucial to getting a peaceful, restful and refreshing night’s sleep. Fast-forward to our visit to “Dreams” at Plympton. Joy of joys! No pressure, no salesperson hovering over us as we tried to adopt unrealistic “sleeping” poses. Just oodles of time to lie down, turn and try out each mattress (after first addressing our mattress needs using “Dreams” wonderful mattress assessment technology. We spent hours (no really, over 3 hours) testing our final three mattress choices. These were soon whirled down to a leading favourite and a strong contender. After a delicious complimentary cup of excellent coffee, it was back to the rigours if serious testing. This one had everything we wanted: more importantly, despite my best efforts, I couldn’t find a single flaw with this mattress (and I went shopping armed with an extensive “Nit-Pick” list). So there you have it. In my humble opinion, this is probably the world’s best mattress. Expensive? Nothing like the cost of my last mattress which was a Vi-Spring. You’ll spend one-third of your life on a mattress, so don’t skimp on the testing nor the price and buy this mattress - it will be one of the best’ no-risk investments you’ll ever make.

4 Oakam2

I purchased this mattress a couple of months ago; having had our previous mattress for well over 8 years. Both myself and my partner prefer a firmer density in mattress, but not overly firm so it feels hard, and one that helps keep us cool. We started looking at various types; ruling out the cheap ones as they were horribly uncomfortable especially with their spring base. Eventually; we came to this one. The mattress is firm but not overly hard. The foam is at the perfect density for us - it moves and adapts to your body to help support you where you need it. We’re both happy with our choice and find it difficult to sleep on anything else. A word of caution - this was advertised as coming with a ‘cooling’ layer, which was great in the showroom. However, in real life circumstances - with a bottom sheet and protector on - there is no real benefit from the cooling layer. Don’t base your choice to buy the mattress solely on that. Another word of caution - the first few nights with this were dreadful. We expected to go to sleep on it and immediately drop off and feel like we were on a cloud. The first couple of nights were uncomfortable and it took a while to get used to, especially having not hadn’t a memory foam mattress before. Stick with it though - it’s an excellent mattress overall

5 00Susanna00

I have looked at Tempur mattresses many times over the years, but the price was always a stumbling block. Recently, I decided that my existing mattress needed to be replaced, and, once again, I contemplated splashing out on a Tempur. I did lots of research online, checking reviews left by others, and looking at prices. On Tempur’s own website, I read that the mattress was available with a ‘cool touch’ cover exclusively at Dreams. This immediately sparked my interest, as I had found that my previous memory foam mattress had often made me feel overheated. After reading all the information on Dreams website, I visited my local store to try out the hybrid mattress that I thought would suit me best. I was invited to feel the difference between an ordinary cover and a cool touch one, which was quite remarkable, and the mattress itself was so comfortable that I immediately placed an order. I have now been sleeping on my new mattress for about 3 weeks, and can thoroughly recommend it. I don’t quite know how the cool touch cover works, but it does! It’s cool, but not cold. It certainly makes a difference to my sleep. I love the idea that the top cover can be easily unzipped for washing, and the fact that the mattress does not need to be rotated is another huge bonus.

Doze Most Useful Customer Reviews

5 Diva20

Let me begin by saying I had an amazing mattress purchased from dreams back in 2005. However that was some serious good quality as it lasted 14 years!! I only found out in 2018 that one had to replace their mattress every 8 years, so I really passed that time limit. I put all my faith in dreams after having failed from another website online where I just had to send it back and opt for this dreams one having tested it out at the shop with their new innovated technology system. But I now had no mattress It was a long wait of 5 weeks (seemed long when you don't have a matrress, but is standard delivery times), and I had to remind myself this was my situaton when I first bought my mattress. I took it back to basics, deciding not to have the hump, as so many don't even have a roof over their heads so lets be humble now..My previous mattress was all fine, until recently for 5 months straight, I had a sore waist, physio referral but nothing was working, and I never have pain for that long. My lower waist pains usually last a couple of weeks if that. I started to get scared and all I wanted to do was help to relieve the problem. I have been a full time carer to my son for many years which has clearly taken a strain on my body as he needs 24/7 care where a lot of manual handling is involved, which was now taking its toll on me. I begun to wake up really stiff, and so sore, that chucking out my old mattress before this one from dreams arrived, was the correct thing to do. I slept on my leather sofa(where the home rule is "do not!" But i broke the rule lol) . It was comfy! But still didn't feel quite right, so I tried the floor, and lo and behold, after sleeping on the floor for a couple of weeks, waist pain gone! One of my son's nurses many years ago did suggest, but I never took her on. Funny what desperate measures can do to you, lol. Then arrived the bed January 2020. It didn't feel as lush as in the shop initially, so I started googling like mad, and soon enough learnt that was normal and to give it time for your body to adjust, especially if you were sleeping on the wrong mattress for a number of years anyways! Day 1 pins and needles. But day 2 and three, now on week 2 and a bit, PERFECTION! I'm now screw face when it's time to get up in the morning because i donlt wanna get out! It's that cosy omggg!! It's like an outer body experience lol. Worth every penny. I did a lot of research when looking for a mattress. I wanted pocket sprung, but learnt that wasn't for me anymore. The one I had which lasted 15 years was pocket sprung but my body had obviously changed within the 14 years of having my old mattress, as up until that point I would still rate it and still hold onto it f i could as condition was still perfect. I was sad to see it go. Then I got an orphopeadic medium firm one online and worst decision, YUK! sent back! But by then I got rid of mines, hence being mattressless LOL! It was worth the wait. I was estatic when learnt I could get pocket sprung, which I longed for, but with memory foam as well, best of both worlds, 2 in 1! The memory foam would help my waist. I can confidently say that my physio, ridding the old mattress, and getting one to accommodate my needs has rid my back pain immediately. No more waking up stiff! No more sore waist. Just a heavenly nights sleep! I wouldn't expect anything less from dreams, and i will go to them again and again. They will see me again in the next 10 years! HA! Thank you dreams!

5 Short Sean

If you're looking for a low-profile medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress, this is definitely one of your best choices as it offers the best price:comfortability for its type. It is more expensive on average, however, a personal anecdote of mine is to never skimp when purchasing a mattress; here you are not paying too much, and not too little. Even though times are far from normal at the moment thanks to COVID, I would still recommend going in-store and trying out the Sleepmatch machine so you can shop based on your own recommended preferences--as I did--because what is comfortable for you, and for myself, is purely subjective. However, as mentioned above, if it is a medium-firmness pocket-sprung mattress you know you are looking for, this is the one I recommend; after trying out all of the recommended mattresses in store, this one in particular left an impression far above the others I had tried prior, including in other retailers. As for my decision of it being low-profile... I live on the shorter side of life and while my bed frame itself is low to the floor, the mattress itself stops at around my kneecaps meaning I do not need to abseil out of bed, I can also sit on the edge of the bed with my feet comfortably on the floor.

5 CandN

My partner and I bought this mattress in king size for our master bedroom last month and have been sleeping really well on it ever since. We are both on the heavier side so really needed a mattress that was firm enough that we didn't sink in to the middle but still soft enough to be comfortable - this mattress is the perfect balance! I always worry with mattresses that have any kind of foam in them that I will get too hot but that's not a problem with this one. We tried the cooling gel mattresses too which felt lovely but were soooo much money and I'm not sure we could have justified that. One thing to note is that this mattress can't be flipped but it can be rotated. We've not noticed any sinking problems though so don't think this is an issue. We tried loads of other mattresses in Dreams and looked online at Emma, Casper, Eve etc. and most of them were a LOT more expensive. If you don't want to spend a fortune and just want a decent, comfy mattress that you can take home on the day (bonus = it comes rolled up so will fit in any normal car) then this one is ideal. I'm so glad we didn't spend £1,000-1,500 on one of the others that didn't feel much different!

5 Lolabear

I bought this mattress about a month ago and started using it 3 weeks ago. I got it in a sale and was slightly dubious because of the price - I thought it may be more basic than the expensive mattresses. However I couldn’t have been more wrong!! This mattress is literally a ‘dream’!! It’s very very comfy and both myself and my partner love it. I would say it’s of medium firmness; it’s not rock hard but you also don’t completely sink into it. I suffer with fibromyalgia and back & neck problems, and I have to say that this mattress has done wonders for my conditions. It has enough support for my back, as well as being firm enough not to sink completely into it which would cause my back problems to be worse. My partner has no problems and he still finds it very comfy. I would recommend this mattress highly and it is amazing value for money. If you are starting up in a new home like us as a younger couple and are a little strapped for cash - this is perfect. As a side note - the delivery was also fantastic, the drivers were ever so polite and took our mattress to the room of our choice (and took their shoes off without us even asking which was so polite of them).

5 DozeDreamsCustomer

The outside cotton cover is slightly noisy when moving around but this is normal for 'new' cotton percale and reduces as it softens with wear quite quickly (a few days of use or a wash in the washing machine). One of the main benefits of cotton percale when compared to the likes of jersey cotton, which boxer shorts are made from, is that cotton percale is less clingy to the skin making the duvet quilt much more breathable, warm and comfortable. The inside fibres are brilliant (very warm, light and evenly textured). Overall it is a very comfortable duvet quilt which I am very happy with. I am glad I purchased it and really enjoy the comfort of being in bed with it. I wear boxer shorts and sleep with the duvet quilt against my skin and wash the it in the washing machine. One of the main benefits of "Just Like Down" when compared to down is that down cannot usually be washed in an ordinary washing machine and is very difficult to dry due to down soaking up water and becoming very heavy. I really like being wrapped up in this duvet quilt.